Calligraphy pen from my new lathe

pen

The nib holder inserts that I ordered from Stiles and Bates arrived the other day, so I thought I’d have a go at making a calligraphy pen on my lathe to test them out. This is the first thing I’ve made since installing the new motor. The timber is from a scrap piece of chair leg and has quite a coarse grain, not really suitable for this purpose, but it meant I didn’t have to rough it out first. First I drilled a 6mm hole for the nib holder, then mounted the timber in the lathe and turned it. I forgot to allow for the waste I’d have to cut off at each end, so the handle is a bit short, but the nib insert fitted nicely and the pen is lovely to hold.

Now to experiment with some different timbers and designs and put them up for sale!

One thought on “Calligraphy pen from my new lathe

Leave a Reply

